Narcissist Discard Aftermath Nightmares

Standard

I have heard many people mention weird dreams or nightmares occurring in the first few weeks following the realization that they had been in an intimate relationship with a psychopath or a narcissist.

Some people have said that they dreamed of their ex in ways that represented missing them.

Other people dream of things being the way they used to be, prior to the dawning, shocking realization that the relationship was an entire deception.

Personally I had the most terrifying nightmares I have ever had before that. I guess you could call them night terrors, because when I awoke I felt like something evil had followed me out of the dream and into the darkness of my bedroom.

I had to start sleeping with the lights on again, which I had not done in years.

In the dream I would be walking in some building either alone or with other people.  Out of no where it would feel like this evil entity, dressed as a man, would enter my dream and invade my mind.

The evil creature would grab me from behind in such a shocking way that it disturbed me to my very core.

It was the way he appeared out of nowhere in the dream that was so terrifying. One minute no one was in the hallway and then he would just materialize and grab me.

I swear when I woke up I could still feel his hands around me. I felt as though whatever it was did not belong in my dream.

I had not given it permission to be there. It was like it was entering my mind from the outside.

Did any of you have dream experiences?

10 responses »

  1. I have nightmares of discard and abandonment constantly..with different people…My parents have abandoned me constantly and previous partners.Now I am happily married to the most wonderful, caring man and I am terrified of losing him. So I have nightmares of him discarding me too, even though he does nothing of the sort in real life..I just have so much trauma from my family of origin, that it is so ingrained in me..Its such a shame to have to relive the pain of this in nightmares..

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you for sharing. Yes, the emotional , mental trauma causes damage to the core of the victim.

      C-PTSD from childhood mental abuse is usually carried into adulthood.
      There is early ” software” that was kept from children of emotionally neglectful or abusive parents.

      This is the topic I am currently focusing on with a few of my clients for life coaching.

      These issues take time and require compassionate dialogue and also NLP techniques can often help.

      Early life trauma does not go away on its own. I think that it was causes you to feel the fear of abandonment.

      Wishing you peacefulness,
      Annie ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I too have had those type of dreams. They are so graphic and seem so real that I cannot often go back to sleep. At times I have the same recurrent dream for weeks on end. I can also get triggered when I watch a movie with violence or a loss of control of an intimate situation. My therapist has explained it is a symptom of ptsd from the abusive situation. They do subside over time but when they occur their intensity can be overwhelming.

    Take care!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for sharing. I agree that that those severe nightmares are a result of PTSD.

      It is the shock to our core and the alteration of what we used to accept into our world as reality.

      When people are abused there are new ugly realities that never existed in our conscious world before.

      Wishing you peace,
      Annie

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I used to have a recurring dream of being a young child standing up in the backseat of our old 52 Ford and no one else in the car and no one driving. Then I’m on the side of the road and the car is driving away. I’m alone and scared and crying. I believe this dream stems from an incident where my mother actually did put me out on the road on that very spot and drove away without me when I was about five or six years old. She did come back to get me after a while though. I had that dream for many, many years but I don’t any longer. I used to also have nightmares about cows and one about a gun barrel on my forehead and the person behind the trigger playing Russian roulette. I no longer remember any of my dreams or nightmares and haven’t for several years. I know I dream while I sleep, but I don’t remember them anymore and they don’t wake me up anymore.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That is a terrifying thing that your mother did to you. I am very sorry for the trauma that caused you.
      No one should feel their safety threatened by the people that are supposed to love and care for them.

      Thank you for sharing. Trauma clearly can cause displrupted sleep and nightmares.

      I am glad to hear that the nightmares stopped.

      The nightmares I had the first two weeks after realizing I had been intimate with a dangerous person with no ability of empathy, also stopped.

      I still have trouble sleeping at night but it takes a while for us to heal from trauma.

      Much love,
      Annie ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

