Domestic Violence: Another Piece of My Story

Standard

fighting for mei

IMG_0400
Over a year later, it still isn’t easy for me to talk about the domestic violence I went through. It’s hard for me to tell my whole story at once, as I’ve mentioned somewhere on this blog, and it can take me months before I can write another post. Goodness knows it took 19 years for me to talk about the child abuse I went through, and I like to (darkly) joke that I can only process one form of abuse at a time. I’ve already written a bit about sexual abuse; in this post I write about physical abuse–an easier topic for me personally, but nonetheless difficult.    I originally wrote this article for an informational website I was making for DV victims and survivors (which explains the “professional” tone in some sections), but decided to post it here instead.

*****TRIGGER WARNING*****

Physical abuse happens when a person tries…

View original post 2,651 more words

About gentlekindness

Annie is a compassionate writer with a powerful voice that resonates with the readers. She speaks the truth with transparency and a vulnerability that empowers and inspires her readers and fans. She is a poet, a guitarist, an amazing singer and a blogger.

Leave a Reply

