Brain Fog From Narcissistic Abuse

Standard

If you are living in a domestic abuse situation, or living with a pathological narcissist, you might have the feeling you are existing in a fog. Your brain feels slow to process the world around you.

This brain fog state is caused by C-PTSD from mental abuse. Your mind is being intentionally manipulated and your cognitive processing is being slowed down.

Our brains are our own. They were not designed to tolerate other people intentionally, and systematically changing what we see, think, feel and perceive. The narcissist gets into your hard drive and loads viruses into your brain.

These viruses keep working continuously, even when the narcissist or psychopath is not presently with you.

This feeling of being in a fog, can last long after the abusive situation has ended. Your brain has conflicting programming, just like people who have been brainwashed by a cult.

The brainwashing tactics of the psychopathic narcissist are the same as the ones that have been used by cult leaders for so many years. Sleep deprivation, shared psychosis, and cognitive dissonance are just some of these methods.

You need to sleep. The sleep deprivation will keep your brain from being able to re-boot. You cannot begin to see clearly without enough sleep.

You need to take some control over some aspect of your life. Even if it is a small thing, like doing yoga before bed for 15 minutes, or taking a shower every other day at 7 pm, your brain needs to be told that you are the one driving the bus.

You need to calm down the fight-or-flight alarms. Yoga can help or any kind of physical activity you like. Calming activities that help you focus on the present moment, like coloring, crafts, hobbies, walking etc, can help.

Hypnosis for C-PTSD from narcissistic abuse can be very helpful. I have used this successfully with my life coaching clients.

I am currently working on a series of audios for this. If you want to be on the list to be notified when I release them, feel free to leave a comment on this post.

The brain fog from narcissistic abuse is not something you can just snap out of. One of the reasons for it is that your brain is trying to protect you from further trauma. It is a kind of emotional shock that your brain is in.

Your senses have been dulled, in order to reduce the effects of any further traumatic events. The fight or flight mode also has another element, which is “freeze mode”.

This brain fog state is like a freeze mode that the brain goes into, because it senses danger and threat. Your brain is always trying to protect you, so be gentle and treat yourself with compassion and acceptance.

Visit my web site for more information about narcissistic abuse. You can join the mailing list for a newsletter, send me a message, and get info about hypnosis and coaching.

Gentlekindnesscoaching.com

8 responses »

  1. This helps me understand what I experienced after my last abuser. I described it as feeling as though I was trying to get my own thoughts back, as if I had just been released from a cult. I had just gone through a divorce from an abusive husband as well. I was in college at the time and remember not being able to even organize papers in a folder. And I am a very organized person. I couldn’t figure out what was wrong with me. I couldn’t concentrate, so I had to keep rereading everything over and over again. I have never heard anyone describe this before. I still suffer with underlying anxiety and have never fully recovered the ability to feel organized without a great deal of struggle. This is hard to admit. Thank you for sharing this.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I remember having to re-read the same paragraphs…even one sentence four or five times…and still not being able to interpret what I was reading. I felt like I had dementia / Alzheimer’s disease.

      The harder I tried, the more anxiety I got, the more stupid I felt, the more I could not read anything. It is impossible for anyone who has not been through it to understand.

      The only thing like it that I can relate it to is when I was held up at gun point when I was working at a cash register at 18. The guy handed me a note with instructions on it.

      I tried very hard to read his note but my brain just shut down. I could see the words…his hand writing was legible…but I could not make any sense of the sentences. I just could not process it.

      I thought he was probably going to kill me because I was not complying with the note. But that made it worse and I still could not read. It was like that part of my brain had completely shut off.

      After a minute or so, which seemed like an hour, that guy verbally gave me instructions which I was able to understand and follow. It is like the part of the brain that organizes written language and other organized systems becomes shut down from shock and emotional trauma.

      So strange…

      Anyway, thank you for sharing your experience with us. I appreciate your taking the time to watch the video. If you go over to the channel you will see lots more videos about these topics.

      You can click on the title of the video at the top. I think if you click on the words it will shift you into youtube. If you need any help getting into my youtube channel, let me know.

      So glad to have you here.
      Much love,
      AnnieπŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’ƒπŸ’ƒπŸ’•πŸ’•

      Like

      • That is a pretty powerful story! It is hard to imagine what you went through! Thank you for your insight and for all of the information you provide on your blog. I will definitely check out more of your videos! Again, thank you so much Annie! I wish you all the best. It is amazing all the work you are doing in helping others! You are wonderful!!!!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I understand, it took me 4 years around my abuser and 3 years after he was gone to research enough to even call it brain fog! I know how hard it is and I wish you all peace and love to recover, I am still healing even though my body and mind feel like I developed fibromyalgia, something I had to diagnose myself with as well but hopefully with years of self soothing we can reverse the harm and be better than we ever were before, I am still on my path. Blessings!

    Like

    • I understand what that’s like. Thank you for reaching out to share.
      Please join us at my YouTube channel called Annie Mimi Hall and connect with others.
      Also you can visit the gentle kindness coaching web site at gentlekindnesscoaching.com for more information or to schedule a coaching session with me.
      Let me know that I spoke with you on WordPress and I’ll be happy to give you 30 percent off the first coaching session.

      Much love,
      Annie – gentlekindness coaching

      Like

Leave a Reply

