I cannot hear ‘love your enemies’ – as a blanket statement, anymore.

Standard

Healing From Complex Trauma & PTSD/CPTSD

I am so beyond disillusioned with Christianity and it’s religious ways.

I have a level of forgiveness and empathy for my abusers, I have prayed for them, but do I have to ‘love them’ all, no I don’t.

God may not forgive these abusers without their repentance, so why are we held up to standards higher than God?

I refuse to be a sacrifice in this life for abusers and passively do nothing, accept their abuse and just ‘love them’.

I am not Jesus and I don’t profess to be and I truly believe Christianity enables and encourages abuse, with these blanket statements and immature and unwise beliefs.

So a person abuses someone, refuses to admit it, lies about it, has caused great suffering to the victim, and we just ‘forgive’, ‘love them’.

Really?

View original post 221 more words

About gentlekindness

Annie is a compassionate writer with a powerful voice that resonates with the readers. She speaks the truth with transparency and a vulnerability that empowers and inspires her readers and fans. She is a poet, a guitarist, an amazing singer and a blogger.

One response »

  1. Absolutely not! You hit the nail of the head with “I refuse to be a sacrifice in this life for abusers and passively do nothing, accept their abuse and just “love them.” Why absolve them when they have nothing to offer to you but lies, abuse and torture?

    Like

Leave a Reply

